Menu

Open Today 10.00 - 16.00

Full opening times

01302 368335

The Buglight Theatre is taking over an empty shop in our centre as part of a pilot project named Create Space.

From the 2nd August until the 5th September they will be hosting a selection of theatre and arts activities in Unit 77 (located on the ground floor between Coffee Time and Pud) - with puppet making, writing workshops, heritage projects and much more.

The Buglight team would love to hear Doncaster people’s ideas for activities, you can contact them by emailing buglighttheatre@gmail.com

 

Scheduled Workshops

 

Week 1: 3rd-7th Aug

Tues 3rd Aug

Teacup tales 

This will be a story telling workshop in which participants will be encouraged to share stories over a cup of tea. These stories will create a comfortable and relaxed environment for participants to get to know one another and reminisce over memories.

Wed 4th Aug

Drama/storytelling workshops

Two artists with experience in professional acting, theatre making and storytelling will hold a series of creative drama classes. Join in with drama games and exercises that encourage self-expression and creativity. All are welcome - those that love drama and those that have never done drama before. 

Tall tales

A story telling corner for children’s storytelling sessions. Experienced artists will bring to life a book that children are drawn to in the space. They will jump into re-enacting their favourite characters with the use of costume, props and hand puppets. Encouraging children to help tell the stories and use funny voices, sound effects and actions. 

Thur 5th Aug

Arts and craft available throughout the day

(All of the above activities will be repeated each week)

Fri 6th Aug

Live music by Adam Bruce: 10am-11am / 12pm-1pm

Performance 3pm-4pm

Sat 7th Aug

Live music by Adam Bruce: 11am-12pm / 1pm-2pm

Performance 4pm-5pm

 

 

Week 2: 10th-14th Aug 

Tues 10th Aug-Fri 13th Aug

Arts and crafts workshops with Karen Hall: 11am-12pm / 2pm-3pm

Sat 14th Aug

Arts and crafts workshops with Karen Hall: 11am-12pm / 2pm-3pm

Liberty Arts Theatre Company: Puppet theatre workshop 'Theatre in a Box' science experiment for children: 4pm-5pm

Week 3: 17th-21st Aug

Poetry and storytelling workshops and activities

Wed 18th Aug-Thurs 19th Aug

Hannah Wilson: Dancer and Visual Artist

Fri 20th Aug-Sat 21st Aug

Poetry slam open mic

 

 

Week 4: 24th-28th Aug

Tues 24th Aug

Lois Conlan from the Travelling Shadow Theatre Company: String puppet workshop: 12.30pm-1.30pm

Wooden spoon workshop kitchen: 3pm-4pm

Wed 25th Aug

Lois  Conlan for the Travelling Shadow Theatre Company: Sock puppet workshop:12pm-1pm

Drama/ Puppet Theatre: 2pm-3.30pm

Shadow Puppets: 4pm-5pm

Thur 26th Aug

Lois Conlan from the Travelling Theatre Company: String Puppet Workshop:1pm-2pm

Sing Song Puppet 2.30pm-3.30pm

Shadow puppet workshop: 4pm-5pm

Fri 27th Aug

Lois Conlan from the Travelling Theatre Company: Wooden spoon puppet workshop: 11am-12pm

String puppets 1pm-2pm

Shadow puppets 3pm-4pm

Sat 28th Aug

Lois Conlan from the Travelling Theatre Company: Sock puppets workshop: 11am-12pm

String puppets 1pm-2pm

Shadow puppets 4pm-5pm

 

 

Week 5: 30th Aug-4th Sept

Weekly workshops, teacup tales, screenings of films created by or with Doncaster creatives.

Mon 30th Aug

Wellness workshops withe Michele Beck

Sat 4th Sept 

Free performance of 'A Mighty Fall From Grace' written by Jake Thompson: 3.30pm-4.30pm

 

*All times are subject to change. Please keep an eye on the Doncaster.CreateSpace Facebook page for any time changes and additional workshops.

 

© 2021 Frenchgate Shopping Centre. All rights reserved.

Ledgard Jepson design & development

Share Twitter Facebook Pinterest Google Plus Email